Burgundy – the land of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir

Burgundy (Bourgogne) is predominately known for Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. In fact, 80% of production goes into those to grapes, with most of the remaining effort going to the production of Gamay and a splash of white wines on the Aligoté grape.

In Burgundy there are 84 appellations and a total of 50.000 hectares of vines – with a further 20.000 hectares of vine in Beaujolais. Beaujolais is technically part of Burgundy, but is most commonly seen as a stand-alone region.

In terms of the largest wine growing regions in France Burgundy comes as number three – a position they share with Rhône and Loire. Languedoc-Roussillon is the largest (220.000 hectares) followed by Bordeaux (120.000 hectares).


We use Cookies a to give you a great wine experience.

To use our site you must be 18 years (in Sweden 25 years) or older and agree with our Terms and Conditions & Privacy Policy.

Show delivery info

Order with free shipping now

Choose your Country
Launching soon - pre-register for great launch-offers and discount voucher